In 2013–14, the Commission was able to achieve high standards of accountability and a clearly defined performance management framework through a range of corporate governance strategies. To this end, one of the core objectives for the administrative staff of the Commission in our business plan was to be an effective, high performing, accountable Australian Public Service (APS) agency. These practices were overseen by the Executive with the support of a number of committees.

The Executive

The Executive comprises the most senior managers in the Commission’s administration. It is chaired by the General Manager and meets weekly to discuss key planning and operational issues.

The Executive is made up of:

  • General Manager—Bernadette O’Neill
  • Director, Client Services—Louise Clarke
  • Director, Corporate Services—Miranda Pointon
  • Director, Regulatory Compliance—Chris Enright, and
  • Director, Tribunal Services—Murray Furlong.

Fair Work Commission committees

Procurement Committee

The Procurement Committee is managed by the Manager, Reporting Planning and Legal and includes other senior managers in the organisation. It has a pivotal role in ensuring that procurements made by the Commission are consistent with Commonwealth Government procurement rules and that procurement is actively managed by the Commission. All procurements over $50 000 are approved by the Procurement Committee.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee currently consists of two senior managers appointed by the General Manager (a third senior manager withdrew from the Committee in May 2014) and is chaired by an external independent committee member. The objective of the Committee is to provide independent assurance and assistance to the General Manager on the Commission’s risk control and compliance framework and its external accountability responsibilities. The Committee meets at least four times each year.

Staff Consultative Committee

The Commission has a well-established and functioning consultative and communication forum with a charter to consider matters affecting the workplace.

The Staff Consultative Committee was established and is maintained by its inclusion in the Commission’s enterprise agreement. The Committee includes:

  • the General Manager
  • management representatives
  • employee representatives, and
  • a union official.

The Committee endeavours to meet at least three times each year.